Bicycle diary – Pescadero loop

It’s a tough choice – giving up cycling or photography?  Weekend is shorter now with addition chores and obligations.  Biking has always been a part of my life since the age of 8.  Growing up in Viet Nam, that was ‘the’ way to get around.  Even on a date.    I remember in my 6th grade, a  bunch of us decided to skip our “practical electrical” class and biked across town from Sài Gòn to Thủ Đức.   Came along with us was Khánh Ly, whom I had a crushed on since my very first day at the new school, Trần Văn Đang.  She was a beautiful girl with long hair and big brown eyes and not to mention she was smart.  I’ve tried to look up my friends, of course including Khánh Ly, when I was in Viet Nam but have failed to do so.  After 22+ years, I am still enjoying every ride.

Photography, however, has given me a brand new persepection and interpretation of how I see the world as well as the world I see.  This weekend I am trying something new that I’ve not done before.  I lugged my DSLR with me on my extended Pescadero loop ride – 50+ miles.  Here are some images I captured along my ride.

Mountain lifestyle

Mountain lifestyle

Begining of a tough climb

Begining of a tough climb

Sam McDonal state park

Sam McDonald park

Tree formation

Tree formation

Light shaft

Light shaft

Roadside cheerleaders

Roadside cheerleaders

The creek

The creek

The bridge

The bridge

Fixing my cleat

Fixing my cleat

A greeting from the golden retriever

A greeting from the golden retriever

I love this fence setting

I love this fence setting

Thank you for the water and the corn.

Thank you for the water and the corn.

Beautiful creature

Beautiful creature

1 (14)

Sunset

Sunset

Pigeon Point light house

Pigeon Point light house

Against the fence

Against the fence

Last look

Last look

A store on Stage X 84

A store on Stage X 84…I didn’t get back ’til 9pm

Alice's restaurant on 84 and 35 in La Honda

Alice’s restaurant on 84 and 35 in La Honda

This is one of my favorite.  One ride five settings all in one – country roads, green redwood forest, the Pacific ocean, challenging climb and technical downhill.  It’s worth every sweat.

-D-

2 thoughts on “Bicycle diary – Pescadero loop

Leave a Reply

