’08 Shot of The Year

copy-of-green-on-bike-copy-downsize

Taken at Hai Hau, Nam Dinh in Viet Nam where my ancetor was from.  The setting was untouched, I left everything exactly the way it was.  The bike was real.  It was ridden by an old man in the village.  Normally I would take at least 3 exposures for each setting but with this one I had only 2 minutes because I was in a rush to catch my 1.30pm bus back to Noi Bai Airport in Ha Noi to meet up with some friends.  And surprisingly, the sharpness and lighting quality turned out perfect.  Before when I looked at others’ photographs and wondered what is the significant of their photos…now I know…it’s the story behind every image that is important to them.  In my case, I traveled so far with absolutely no idea where I would end up at and what could possibly happen to me.  It was the place I took this photo that makes it even more special.  It was not my intention to look for a shot like this.  The setting presented itself to me.  Thus, the picture itself reveals the true humble countryside life style in Viet Nam that we sometimes don’t see.

The original shot before I added texture can be found on my Flickr page.

-D-

Leave a Reply

