Derail

It’s nearly a year since my bike accident and due to an believable gorgeous weather, I decided to get back on my Cannondale off-road bike. I usually go on these trails off of Bear Creek exit and 17 because they are short and steep, good for training so I can hang with the big riders (friends from college) on Sunday. Since I am very familiar with the trails so I left 2 most important items at home – backpack and a tool set. Half way up the trail I veered right to avoid a group of hikers but then I ended up riding over a small branch, so guess what, my cheap Sram X7 was sheared in half. I couldn’t drop down the trail because the chain was dangling and there was no way to take it off since I didn’t have my tool set with me. Only one option left for me was walking. Even that wasn’t easy because I had my biking shoe with metal cleats on. That just ruined my whole Saturday.

-D-

Leave a comment