Tuesday Tunes: Wintersong

Lights are up. Decorations are in place. Every store and shopping mall I go to, people are playing holiday music. I have nothing against it except for the great feeling that Xmas is near…my favorite holiday since I was a little, very little and nothing will change that — not because of all that gifts. As a matter of fact, there was no such thing as giving gift in Vietnam when I grew up there. It was the time of year that I got to wear my newly made clothes by my sister. Happened almost every Xmas I always got first place in bible study (first place = a free beach vacation while others had to pay).

Instead of playing traditional holiday music that we hear over and over on the radio, shopping mall and sometimes on the street, here’s a “wintersong” by Sarah McLachlan. I like her piano skills, a touchy composing style and beautiful pure voice form.

Sarah McLachlan – Wintersong

The lake is frozen over
The trees are white with snow
And all around
Reminders of you
Are everywhere I go

It’s late and morning’s in no hurry
But sleep won’t set me free
I lie awake and try to recall
How your body felt beside me
When silence gets too hard to handle
And the night too long

And this is how I see you
In the snow on Christmas morning
Love and happiness surround you
As you throw your arms up to the sky
I keep this moment by and by

Oh I miss you now, my love
Merry Christmas, merry Christmas,
Merry Christmas, my love

Sense of joy fills the air
And I daydream and I stare
Up at the tree and I see
Your star up there

And this is how I see you
In the snow on Christmas morning
Love and happiness surround you
As you throw your arms up to the sky
I keep this moment by and by

One thought on “Tuesday Tunes: Wintersong

Leave a Reply

