Social network sites

First was Friendster then came along Myspace. I joined both of these sites with the thought of keeping in touch with friends and keep myself up to date with their everyday. Not long ago, I closed my accounts because I received spam mails and all sort of bogus invitations. Until now I still don’t see how these sites can help me stay closed with my friends. And yet here comes another social network site launched in 2004, Facebook is now one of the most popular site. I got to know the site through a friend of mine, Trisha La, and with huge curiosity, I couldn’t resist the temptation but to create an account. So there, you can keep in touch with me via Facebook, however, I can’t promise to be there long. Since I am not an internet savvy, I can’t really tell the difference between these sites. They are all the same to me. I, sometimes, wondered how in the world my friends get the time to be on all of these sites: Friendster, Myspace, Facebook, LinkedIn and not to mention many other sites that I am not aware of.

On the business side of it, Myspace still remains the largest site but Facebook is the fastest growing within this past year. Microsoft just sealed the deal on Wednesday with Facebook to pay $240 million for 1.6% stake. The appraisal from Microsoft is $15 billion. And how did they come up with this number? It really depends on the traffic generated by the site and how long people are going to stick around because there will come another better and hipper site. By doing the number right, each one of you on Facebook worth about $300.

If you can’t find me on these social sites, my home is here and blogging is art…

2 thoughts on “Social network sites

  1. K says:

    You just have to get on the site for the heck of it b/c everybody is on it! I don’t spend much time on it either, but it is quite a powerful social site aka facebook

  2. P says:

    Yup and true. Everyone register for these sites because everyone has them and it is kind like a new trend. I don’t use them, but it is quite helpful finding your long lost friend.

Leave a Reply

