Mother Nature in music

My poor piano sat quietly in the corner of my apartment covered with dust and sometimes turned into a bookshelf. I just didn’t have enough time to devote to music. It’s been a few months since I let go of my piano…I’ve tried to teach myself to play piano but didn’t get too far. As I tried to make my way down to the food section at Costco today, I couldn’t help but to stop and got on the display piano and played for a good 15 minutes. I’ve always frustrated when I hit the wrong key while playing but today I realized that I made it too hard on myself. In music, you never go back and play the note that you missed … the next note you are about to strike is more important, and also how you finish the song.

My favorite section on NPR is “Song of the Day”, a perfect place to expand my interest in music and new bands. “I sing I swim” by the Seabear is an interesting song – they portrait personal pains through the acts of Mother Nature.

Seabear – I Sing I Swim

When the birds are sleeping
That’s when the trees sing
You left your winter clothes,
And your teeth marks in my skin

So shake the leaves, off the trees,
Watch them float down the stream
Your son, your daughter
Swimming in the water

And I miss you, even when you’re around
I’m a black cloud,
Sending lightning to the ground

So darling please, show your teeth
Just one more dance to help me sleep
Whirl, cold water eyes
Fill the past with friendly nights
Human skin, can be hard to live in
You’ll feel better in the morning
Wash your hands in the lake
You’ve got a heart, some way

Trails lost in the snow
Make way for winter’s eerie glow
And that black rock in your bedroom
I hope you’ll climb it soon
In your boat, tied to a tree
I hope you’ll find the sea

Throw me a dream please, it’s been a dreamless sleep
For such a long time, such a long time
Sing myself awake
Watch the branches break
No one could ever take your place

Wash your face in the lake
You’ve got a diamond under your skin

Leave a Reply

